Ode to Loneliness

IMG_6525

Loneliness is not a sin, it’s not a punishment either. It’s a situation, a feeling, it’s a part of life. And it can be a great friend and teacher, if you let it.

It makes you discover you. Gives you a chance to become your own best friend. And you know what, I am not a bad crowd to run with. I am never really bored on my own.

Loneliness also gives you a chance to recognise all different sparks of love that surround you.

Yes, those people may be far away, and you don’t see them often. But hearing “I know you are busy, but when you find time, you are always welcome”, makes my heart loose a bit. That the most “being there for me” that I can ask for right now.

Yes, you may see those people everyday, and it seems, that they don’t quite “get you”. But they are happy to see you, they give you hugs and smiles, they make jokes with you, keep you company. And the more time you spend with them, the more they become home.

And this is love too. And loneliness keeps you from taking it all for granted.

Loneliness helps you see yourself clearly. Yes, this is me. This is where I come from, this is what I have done so far. And I don’t regret a thing, everything made me me, who I am today.

And sometimes it’s OK to not have a plan, to just be, just live. Changes happen even, if I don’t always acknowledge them. And one day it will be clear, who I have become.

It’s OK to be alone. Loneliness is not a sin…

Leave a comment